I want to refresh my mind, delete all my problems and mistakes and keep only happy memories.. NOT!

I read that statement on facebook this morning and all I could think was.. “what a crock of shit!”
Our mistakes and problems are what shape us and teach us lessons. There is no going back, no reset button, no “get out of jail free card”. All you can do is move forward, make the best out of what you have and live.
None of us are perfect and we never will be. It’s your choice what you make of it. You can choose to be happy or you can choose to be miserable.
I have made my fair share of mistakes but I own them,  they are stepping stones along the path of my life. Not everyone will agree with the things I have done and you don’t have to.
I know alot of people in many different walks of life. My friends are older, younger, and some are the same age as I am, different races, different religions,  and I appreciate them all. They teach me to view things from other perspectives. I choose to take life day by day. Tomorrow is never promised. Unfortunately,  social anxiety is not my friend as it keeps me from expressing the things I would like to say all of the time and I fear I may never get over that but the ones that count get that. 
I went out last night to a bar ( oh no! Life choice police.. Come and get me!) To visit with a friend and to catch a local band that I had seen a couple of times before and loved! The Deloreans are an 80s cover band that play all over locally and and further out in Virginia. The band isn’t your typical cover band. These people have talent. Some might call that “glorified karaoke” but I don’t see it that way. The members of the band play multiple instruments.  Two of them switched off playing drums through their sets. They each took solo vocal leads in different songs and I was amazed at their energy. If you are ever in Southeast VA and the opportunity arises to see them.. do it. You will be pleasantly surprised.. that is, unless you don’t like 80s music. They flawlessly pulled out tunes from Pat Benatar, Bon Jovi, Twisted Sister, Billy Idol, Toto, Van Halen, Cyndi Lauper, The Clash, The Ramones, and Rick Astley just to name a few. They rock!
While I was out I was approached by a few people, good old friends and alot of acquaintances, one in particular stood out. They told me that they still read my crazy blog (yes, this one) and called me an inspiration.  Those are heavy words and they meant alot to me. The whole reason behind starting the blog was to help others long the same path or similar to to mine. It’s been filled with the good,  bad, ugly, rewarding, and honest truth about this journey. It’s also kind of spun off into my own personal sounding board. To me, it’s all relative. Daily life is a part of the journey and my emotions have a big part in the trip. I am human, I make mistakes, I fall off path and I always dust myself off and get back to where I need to be. Life isn’t always pretty and it’s up to you how you decide to handle life’s ups and downs. One thing I hope you gather from my words is that I’m not a quitter. Mistakes,  victories, total blunders, attempts at something new, good times and bad.. I will never give up.
I’m not done yet, this is a life time process.  I don’t follow a diet but have made and continue to make lifestyle changes. My goal is to maintain good health. If I look good in the process.. that’s a bonus! I will always be a work in progress. I don’t always know where I’m going but you can be sure I’m going to make the best of it!

Til next time,
Often misunderstood, quirky, ever – evolving, never quitting -Jen

Leave a comment